Dr. Mary Elizabeth Hartnett

Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD holds the Calvin S. and JeNeal N. Hatch Presidential Endowed Chair and Distinguished Professor in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Utah and is Adjunct Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy and Pediatrics. Dr. Hartnett also serves on the Scientific Advisory Board of the Jack McGovern Coats’ Disease Foundation.

After ophthalmology residency at Case Western/University Hospitals of Cleveland, Dr. Hartnett completed adult and pediatric vitreoretinal fellowships at Schepens Retina Associates and Schepens Eye Research Institute of Harvard Medical School. She provides medical and surgical treatment for adults, infants, and children. Dr. Hartnett is Director of Pediatric Retina at the John A. Moran Eye Center and is Principal Investigator of the retina and choroidal angiogenesis laboratory, funded through the National Eye Institute/National Institutes of Health to study conditions, including retinopathy of prematurity and age-related macular degeneration.

Dr. Hartnett has over 180 peer-reviewed publications, 36 book chapters, and created the first- ever academic textbook on the subject, Pediatric Retina, contracted for a Third Edition. She served on numerous grant study sections including as Chair of Diseases and Pathophysiology of the Visual System of NIH and currently on the Knights Templar Eye Foundation Scientific Advisory Committee. She has delivered numerous national and international invited lectures. Dr. Hartnett was awarded the Physician Scientist Merit Award from Research to Prevent Blindness, the Honorary Lecture Award and Scientific Contribution Award from Women in Ophthalmology, the Paul Henkind Award and the Arnall Patz Medal from The Macula Society, a Laureate award from the Future Vision Foundation, the Weisenfeld Award from Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), and is an ARVO Gold Fellow. She has served on the University wide promotions committee and is currently co-director of the Presidential Commission on the Status of Women and the Chair of the Credentials committee of the international Retina Society.