Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the Jack McGovern Coats’ Disease Foundation is composed of top pediatric retinal specialists dedicated to caring for patients with Coats’ Disease, raising awareness, and advancing research in the field. The SAB is primarily responsible for making recommendations to our Board of Directors regarding research priorities and funding.

The Scientific Advisory Board is committed to ensuring that research funded by the Jack McGovern Coats’ Disease Foundation is scientifically rigorous and has the potential to advance the Foundation’s work to find improved treatments and a cure through the latest cutting-edge medical research. Our goal is to offer all children hope as they wage a lifelong battle against Coats’ Disease and blindness.

Questions? Contact Deborah Marron at [email protected].


Scientific Advisory Board Members

For more information about each member, please click on their name.


Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD, FACS, FARVO
Member of the Jack McGovern Coats’ Disease Board of Directors; Board Liaison, SAB Chair
Professor in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences and Director of Pediatric Retina, Stanford University.


Michael Jumper, MD
West Coast Retina



Thomas Lee, MD

Director of The Vision Center at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles; Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery, Keck School of Medicine of USC



Franco Recchia, MD

Tennessee Retina



Lejla Vajzovic, MD

Assistant Professor, Duke University Department of Ophthalmology



Sherri Van Everen, PharmD

Vice President, REGENXBIO




Questions? Please contact Deborah Marron at [email protected].